## I.—AREA AND POPULATION.

The Dominion of Canada, extending westward from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean, and northward from the United States boundary into the Arctic Circle, embraces a total area computed at 3.729,665 square miles. This area is divided into nine provinces and the Yukon and Northwest Territories. By the Boundary Extension Acts, passed by the Dominion Parliament in 1912 (2 Geo. V, cc. 32, 40 and 45), the provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec were enlarged by the addition of areas that were previously part of the Northwest Territories. The boundaries of Manitoba were thus extended northwards to the 60th parallel of north latitude between the eastern boundary of Saskatchewan and the western shore of Hudson Bay; and from the point where the northern boundaries of Manitoba and Ontario formerly coincided the boundary of Manitoba was extended due north to a point defined and thence northeasterly to the point where the 89th meridian of west longitude intersects the southern shore of Hudson Bay. The northern boundaries of Ontario were extended to the southern shores of Hudson Bay, the new western boundary of Ontario coinciding with the new eastern boundary of Manitoba. To the province of Quebec were added the whole of the territory of Ungava and that part of Labrador which is within the Dominion of Canada.

The following statement (Table 1) shows the total area of the Dominion in land and water and the new distribution into provinces and territories:

Provinces.	Land.	Water.	Total Land and Water.
	sq. miles.	sq. miles.	sq miles.
Prince Edward Island	2,184	-	2,184
Nova Scotia	21.068	360	21.428
New Brunswick	27,911	74	27.985
Quebec	690,865	15.969	706.834
Óntario	365,880	41.382	407.262
Manitoba	231,926	19,906	251,832
Saskatchewan	243,382		251.700
Alberta	252.925	2.360	255,285
British Columbia	353.416	2,439	355,855
Yukon	206, 427	649	207.076
Northwest Territories	1,207,926	34,298	1,242,224
Total	3,603,910	125,755	3,729,665

1. Land and Water Area of Canada by Provinces and Territ
--

By the revision of the boundaries Manitoba received about 178,100, Ontario 146,400 and Quebec 354,961 square miles of additional territory. Quebec, instead of British Columbia, is now the largest province of the Dominion, Ontario being second, and British Columbia third in point of size. The map of Canada which forms part of this volume shows clearly the present boundaries of the provinces.

The new district of Ontario has been named Patricia. It is bounded on the west and northwest by Manitoba, on the south and southeast by the English and Albany rivers and on the east and 39089-1